Railroad was a railroad that ran through south central Connecticut
from 1849 to 1887. In the latter year the line was leased by the New York, New Haven
Railroad and was wholly owned by the New Haven by 1906. At its greatest extent the Naugatuck ran from Bridgeport
north to Winsted.
The museum operating subsidiary is named Naugatuck Railroad (reporting mark NAUG) in honor of the line's original owner. Track currently ends in Torrington
. From Waterbury
south to the New Haven Line, Metro-North Railroad operates commuter service on the Waterbury Branch.
The current heavyweight passenger cars used by the Naugatuck are retired Canadian National coaches. Coaches 4980, 4992, and 5046 are the regularly assigned ones with 4990 as the spare. As of 2010 coach 5805 is still undergoing a major restoration by the museum's volunteers. There are several original New Haven coaches owned by the museum/railroad but none currently restored to usable condition. Visitors can see and will pass by these cars during the train trip.
Motive power currently (2010) is rotated among Alco RS-3 529 (the only surviving New Haven RS-3), GE U23B 2203 (an ex-P&W unit, nee-Conrail 2798. It is the last "U boat" built, June 1977) and EMD FL-9 2019 (a retired CDOT unit that was rebuilt in 1985. Originally New Haven 2049).Other locomotives stored that can be seen during the train trip are: Boston and Maine SW-1 1109 (built 1939, cosmetically restored in the early 1990s) Maine Central RS-3 557.