This building was constructed in 1903 and served as the headquarters for the Army Corps of Engineers until 1918.
In 1878 civilian Superintendent Philetus Norris began cutting crude wagon paths to Yellowstone's major features. However, better roads were needed, and from 1883 to 1918 the U.S. Army's Corps of Engineers built and maintained Yellowstone's roads and bridges. When they left the park in 1918, the Corps had constructed over 400 miles of roads and created the first road system of any size constructed according to uniform specifications. For its time, it was a unique and inspiring model.
The Corps also improved life at Fort Yellowstone by constructing a hydroelectric power plant, which provided electricity for the fort's buildings, and by developing a water system. Other contributions included landscaping, and installing street lights and concrete sidewalks.