Cole's had boasted being the oldest restaurant and bar in the city of Los Angeles continuously operated from the same location--inclusive of a shutdown for major remodeling on March 15, 2007.
Cole's was founded in 1908 by Henry Cole on the ground floor of the Pacific Electric Building, which served as the main terminal for the Pacific Electric Railway. Cole's unique table tops were made from the varnished doors of retired Red Cars of the Pacific Electric Railway. The tables were removed as part of the renovation and were reportedly relocated to the developer's nearby corporate headquarters above Clifton's Cafeteria. The restaurant claims (along with Philippe's) that the first French dip sandwich was served at Cole's in the same year.