Located on the first floor of the Emerald Building next to the Department of Mineral Resources on Rama VI Road, the museum is attached to the Bureau of Geological Survey, Department of Mineral Resources, and was established in 1948. It exhibits minerals, rocks, fossils as well as ancient tools made from minerals and rocks in 3 sections:
1. Geology, featuring the Earth, plate movements, earthquakes, minerals and rocks, geological surveys, ground water and fossils;
2. Mineral Resources, displaying specimens of gemstones and precious stones, uses of minerals, mineral fuels, petroleum and minerals from abroad;
3. Special Exhibition, currently showcasing dinosaur fossils in Thailand. The museum is open on weekdays during 9 a.m.-4.30 p.m. Admission is free but advance contact in writing addressed to the Director-General of the Department of Mineral Resources is required.