Racconigi is a town and comune in Piedmont, Italy. It is located in the province of Cuneo, 40 km (25 mi) south of Turin, and 50 km (31 mi) north of Cuneo by rail.
The town was founded in medieval times. It was a possession of the marquisses of Saluzzo, of the princes of Acaia and of the Savoy-Carignano.
The Castle of Racconigi is a royal residence built in 1570 on the basis of an earlier castle which dated to the beginning of the second millennium. The large park was laid out in 1755 by the French gardener Molard from designs by Le Notre, and enlarged in 1835. The castle became the summer residence of the King of Italy in 1901, and part of the World Heritage Site Residences Of The Royal House Of Savoy in 1997.
The Baroque churches of San Domenico and Santa Maria Maggiore.
LIPU, the Italian League for the Protection of Birds, established the Centro Anatidi e Cicogne in 1985 in a large farmhouse near the castle as a site for the reintroduction of the White Stork, which became extinct in Italy as a breeding species at the beginning of the eighteenth century. The site now includes a breeding centre for various endangered species of ducks, geese and swans—notably the White-headed Duck which has been extinct in Italy since 1976—and an area of wetland where visitors can observe such migrants as Black-winged Stilt, Little Ringed Plover and Black-tailed Godwit.