Flaminio Photos

Meet 49 travelers, 63 tour guides and discover 1,134 photos

Originally from Heliopolis. Brought to Rome by Augustus in 10 BC with the Solare obelisk and erected on the spina of the Circus Maximus. Found with the Lateranense obelisk in 1587 in two pieces and erected by Pope Sixtus V in 1589. Sculptures with lion fountains were added to the base in 1818.
View Flaminio guide >

Flaminio - Piazza Del Popolo - Rome - Italy