Owing to its favourable geographical position Gyöngyös has witnessed Many important historic events. Known as a settlement at the time of the original conquest of Hungary in the 9th century, a prospering economic life had blossomed by the end of the 11th century. In 1334 the settlement received town status from King Róbert Károly basically as a result of the wine trade which was blossowing to the north and north east.
The status of the settlement in the l7th century is objectively revealed in an old travel book. It mentions the clean streets, great numbers of merchants and charming “ladies” as well as the heady and tasty, “sapp hire coloured” wines that even the Turks kept sampling. During Rákóczi’s insurrection (1703-11) the reigning prince carried on negotiations with the imperial ambassador of the Monarchy in the town with. The most well known “kuruc” general, Vak Bottyán, János is buried in the Franciscan church. A tragic event in the history of the town is the fire that broke out in May 1917 and destroyed the majority of the buildings. Seeing the ruins, King Károly IV ordered the reconstruction of the town. The unified and harmonic layout of the present town was formulated at that time. The remarkable public buildings, churches and dwellings were restored to preserve their status. Visitors arriving Gyöngyös, the “Gate to the Mátra”, find a kind and hospitable town that is deservedly famous for its wines, historic buildings and cultural events.