The monumental early Gothic royal castle was built in the second half of the 13th century by Przemysl Otakar II. In 1279 Otto of Brandenburg imprisoned the Prince Wenceslas II and his mother the Queen Kunhuta here. After the Battle on the White Mountain in 1620 Albrecht of Waldstein took over the castle and rebuilt it into a monastery. In 1666 the Benedictines brought here the copy of the Black Madonna of Montserrat and since that time Bezděz became the target place for thousands of pilgrims. In 1785 Joseph II abolished the monastery and the former royal castle remained empty and dilapidated. Architecturally Most precious part of the castle is the unique early Gothic chapel with a cross rib vault.