Built in the years 1812 to 1818 by Franz and Therese Wenger, this historical mill retains the rustic charm of yesterday. In 1981 the historical structure has been listed.
A visit to the historical mill provides a taste of nostalgic reminiscence of the pioneering spirit of the founders and subsequent millers who ground grains for the daily table in the 1900´s. The historical structure is divided into a residential part and in business premises, that once included a grist mill and a sawmill. The mills first were powered by water, later on by electricity.
The Wenger Mill, located in the hamlet of Oberachmann, had been abandoned for several years when the Lenzing market town authority acquired the property in 1966 with the aim to erect a swimming area on the site.
In 1989, the Lenzing authority decided to revitalize the Mill for a restaurant operation. In 1990, master builder Norbert Schmid from Frankenburg and architect Christoph Gärtner were commissioned with the renovation of the building. They adapted it into a restaurant while preserving the charms of the original structure.
The Trenker Family has been serving up culinary delicacies in the historical Mill since October 1991. Josef Wiesinger, a nephew to the Trenker Family, has taken over the restaurant at Wenger Mill in January 1999. Dining there is a sensory experience, and the dedicated staff prides itself in the artful presentation of a cuisine, that has been awarded a Gault Millau toque in 1996.
Others: parking, Sanitary Facilities, Restaurant
Suitable for: Families, Wheelchair User, Groups, Seniors
Josef Wiesinger Oberachmanner
4860 Lenzing, Austria