The Pöndorf Parish Church first appeared in historical documents in the early 9th century.
The Pöndorf parish church was consecrated to St Maximilian (his name was first mentioned in a document in 1407). Since Pöndorf covered both Austrian and Bavarian territory back then, the church boats two entrances. The southern gate was used by the Austrian congregation and is still named "Innviertler gate".
The church boasts Romanesque and late Gothic as well as Baroque features and was refurbished in 1984/85. Special highlights: sacristy door dating back to 1497; high altar by Franz Schinagl (1693); Lady statue designed by Johann Peter Schwanthaler the Elder.
Gemeinde Pöndorf Pöndorf
4891 Pöndorf, Austria